First 38

Thinking about life is a very stressful task believe it or not. As a young girl I really shouldn’t be thinking about life in this way. Should I go away completely or should I stay?  That is the ultimate question… we pulled up to the police station and my stomach dropped. As we walked in I saw my mom and dad standing there with the fake smiles as if they really cared. They looked like mannequins to me. They sat me in this room with a table and toys on it. I was looking in the mirror wondering why was it there. As I sat there playing with my nails and trying to think about how I am gonna get out of this situation the social worker came in. She was this big black women who looked so mean. she had this black recorder and a yellow pad with her. she had some apple juice. How did she know I loved apple juice. She sat down across from me and started to write on the yellow pad. After five minutes she said Dominique my name is Mrs. Walker. I am a social worker do you know what that is?  No ma’am. Well I am here to help you not harm you. So we gonna talk a little about your life. I just looked at her with a blank stare. My life you really want to know about that. I wonder if I can walk out on my life and start a new one. I replied I have nothing to say. Dominique I know this is tough for you but I promise this will be kept confidential. Then she pushed a button on the black box. I was so thirsty and I wanted some juice but I knew I wasn’t allowed to have any. I started to cry because I wanted to go home and just disappear.  She looked at me with her big piercing eyes and kept writing on the yellow pad as if she is studying me…………

Leave a comment